The Fringe Has Become Mainstream

embarrassedOh…holy S*#T! The thing that nightmares are made of has become a reality! The once called “fringe element” has now become mainstream! People – you can’t make this crap up! No wonder we have lost so much face with other nations around the world! Between the ignorance of Dubyah and his “yer either with us or agin’ us mentality,” the Tea Party with their beer-bellies and misspelled and racist signs, a backwards Alaskan bimbo running for the Vice Presidency, and the ranting of a bunch of fanatical religious zealots warning of Sharia Law while seeking a Christian theocratic government, the last several years have cost the United States a fortune in respect and favor with the rest of the world.

rand paul3Now add to that the insufferable and bodaciously ridiculous crowning of Rand Paul as “The Most Interesting Man in the Political World” by Chris Cilliza of the Washington Post and at the very least I think I am going to throw up in my mouth.

Rand Paul, who is convinced there is going to be a NAFTA super highway through the United States that would connect Mexico and Canada, and warns about the “Amero” – Rand Paul who has sounded the alarm that the UN is going to force the United States to confiscate and destroy all unauthorized civilian firearms and create an international gun registry – Rand Paul who loves to tell scary drone stories about President Obamathat Rand Paul is credited with being the most interesting man in the political world?

Rand-PaulRand Paul, who blames the Department of Energy for his malfunctioning toilets – Rand Paul, who gets his news from World Net Daily and considers that to be a credible news source – Rand Paul, who claims that the President is using Obamacare to have doctors inform on their patients about their gun ownership prior to a mass confiscation – that Rand Paul is being called the most interesting man in the political world?

Oh…holy S*#T! I’m certain he is basking in his new found fame – and Chris Cilliza just had to encourage him! Geez!

glenn-beck-cryingEarlier this week, Rand Paul found himself on the Glenn Beck show – now that’s a pair to draw to! I really don’t ever want to know how either of their brains get from point A to point B – because I really don’t think being psychotic would be a fun thing. The two of them seemed to get on famously with each other and the got into a discussion about the Supreme Court decision on DOMA. Well, what better topic for two anti-gay, bigoted, probably closeted men to broach?

Beck, with his usual air of authority postulated that the ruling by the SCOTUS opened the door to legalize polygamy:

“If you change one variable — man and a woman to man and man, and woman and woman — you cannot then tell me that you can’t logically tell me you can’t change the other variable — one man, three women. Uh, one woman, four men…. If I’m a devout Muslim and I come over here and I have three wives, who are you to say if I’m an American citizen, that I can’t have multiple marriages.”

 Uh…okay. I’m not sure that I follow, but I’m not sure that I really want to. However, we have to remember that he was talking to Rand Paul, who in his twisted and warped state of mental inertia, seemed to follow Beck’s illogic quite well. But, Paul wasn’t going to be outdone or upstaged by Beck, and he took it one step further:

“I think this is the conundrum and gets back to what you were saying in the opening — whether or not churches should decide this. But it is difficult because if we have no laws on this people take it to one extension further. Does it have to be humans?

confused“You know, I mean, so there really are, the question is what social mores, can some social mores be part of legislation? Historically we did at the state legislative level, we did allow for some social mores to be part of it. Some of them were said to be for health reasons and otherwise, but I’m kind of with you, I see the thousands-of-year tradition of the nucleus of the family unit. I also see that economically, if you just look without any kind of moral periscope and you say, what is it that is the leading cause of poverty in our country? It’s having kids without marriage. The stability of the marriage unit is enormous and we should not just say oh we’re punting on it, marriage can be anything.”

First off – what the hell did he say? I mean, I got the gist of it in that he was insinuating that someone could marry their pig, but the rest of this is sheer idiocy! But, I guess that’s okay if you wear the crown of being the most interesting man in the political world. Given the current state of affairs and the officials who have been elected to represent the American people, it might very well be par for the course.

More and more often I wake up in the morning feeling as though I have been transported to some other plane – someplace where sanity has been stolen and replaced by an irrational derangement without any basis in reality. More and more often I find myself cringing in embarrassment for our country and our image.

If Rand Paul can be considered a “rising star” as the New York Times called him, and the most interesting man in the political world – I might just have to answer his question “Does it have to be humans?” If this is the best we have to offer, it might behoove all of us to marry our dogs as they are infinitely smarter and more logical than many of those two-legged politicians who claim to represent us.

 

 

2 responses to “The Fringe Has Become Mainstream

  1. I love how they pretend to be appalled at the idea of marriage between one men and multiple women….it is they who screech about BIBLICAL MARRIAGE and that’s exactly what biblical marriage is.

    As a matter of fact, it wouldn’t surprise me to learn that many of the the politicians who are taking on the cause of legalizing gay marriage are quietly dominionist….I’d be interested to look at the wording of the laws in the various states that are legalizing it. Gay marriage *just might* be their back door to the legalization of polygamy. It wouldn’t shock me at all to learn that their “protestations” of the legalization of polygamy are in fact nothing more than predictions.

    Like

  2. Oh, and this site rocks. Adding it to my blogroll.

    Like

Leave a Reply

